Contributor Spotlight | Lisa Ford Photography

Lisa Ford is the creative genius behind the photography for the front cover and paper doll shoot for the first issue of Paper Runway.  Thanks Lisa for your support and of course your photography which we love!  Lisa shares a little bit about herself in our contributor interview …

Tell us about your background and how did you get to where you are today?

My family lived overseas and travelled quite a bit so at an early age I was privileged to have lived and seen a lot of things some people have not and will not in their life-time. Experiencing the Sistine Chapel, the work of Michelangelo, at five years of age is rather special and it really created an impact on my young mind; it is still one of the most vivid memories of an experience I’ve had to date and I now believe this is what opened my mind to a creative side and inspired me.

Where do you call home?

Ocean Shores NSW Australia

Tell us about your business

Lisa Ford Photography was established in 2000 while I was completing my final year at university and I graduated from the Queensland College of Art, Griffith University with a Bachelor of Photography.

It is very important to me to provide a professional service to my client that is a full experience and one they will enjoy. My business is therefore all about my client and how I can best deliver this to them and the one fundamental thing that I provide is service. Many of my clients are very busy people and don’t have the time to take care of a lot of things themselves or simply don’t have any idea of how to go about things – they know what they want, but not how to produce it – and this is where my business come in. I achieve these things for them and I provide the ability for them to have what they want.

In a time that service and quality is taking a back seat, I am pushing for these two things to be at the forefront of my business.

Who or what inspires you?

I draw inspiration from many things! It might be a piece of music, a colour, a scene, a landscape, a smell, anything really. Just recently it was my optometrist during an eye examination that provided inspiration of an image that I have just finished creating for the Australian Professional Photography Awards to be held soon.

What have the highlights been since starting your career?

Winning my first Gold Award at the 2010 Queensland Professional Photography Awards and photographing the memories for couples and families that will become treasured heirlooms.

Were you given any memorable advice that you would like to share?

Surround yourself in life with people you want to be like and learn from them.

Do you have a favourite project?

Self-commissioned work is always so much fun because I am only limited by myself.

How do you maintain a balance between your work and your life? (or not?)

At times this is very hard and over the years while establishing my business and then working hard when it did take off, it has been a struggle. Lately though, I have learnt from a few things that have happened to people I know and understand that life is short and we are only here for a short time so we have to make the most of it. I believe life these days should be about trying to slow things down a bit when you can as we all just rush through everything and don’t get to really experience anything. I still have to try and balance the balancing every day though!

Describe your favourite paper item

A paper fan. This is one of the first things “paper” that I had as a child and it was a vital item because living in Singapore gets very hot and humid. It was very pretty as I recall, Chinese…

Do you have a “usual” day

A usual day for me is largely spent in front of a computer. One thing that people forget about photography these days – since digital – is that actually photographing is about 10% of the work we do now, the rest is post-production.

What is your favourite place to hang out?

I love being at home 🙂

What do you love most about what you do?

The freedom I have to do what I love and make people – and myself – happy.

Answer these short questions?

Black or White: white
Tea or Coffee: tea
Heals or flats: heals (but don’t really wear them that much!)
Short or long: long
Sweet or savoury: do I have to choose?
Night or Day: day

These are a few of Lisa’s favourite photos … Enjoy

x Nikki and Maree

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 responses to “Contributor Spotlight | Lisa Ford Photography

  1. What a great interview, I love to hear about how and why people do what they do. Thanks for sharing Lisa, love you work.
    Suzie xx

  2. Thanks Nikki and Maree! it is a pleasure to be involved with Paperrunway and be creative with you both.
    xo

Leave a Reply

