Profile: Katie Preece

Katie Preece is a talented freeleance photographer based in Sydney, Australia. You can see some of her gorgeous images on the pages of Paper Runway.

“Katie is a diverse photographer whose passion involves a wide range of subjects. She brings a unique creative insight to everything she photographs. Since completing a Diploma in Commercial Photography she has been busy assisting and learning from other photographers while working as a freelance photographer in Sydney.”

Tell us about your background and how did you get to where you are today

My fondest memories as a child was going work with my father during school holidays. When he got busy he would set me up in the dark room to print for him, I was fascinated how a blank piece of paper would turn into a photograph. When I finished school I studied fine arts then completed a Diploma in commercial photography at Ultimo TAFE. From there I became head printer at a pro lab, then got into assisting and shooting for another photographer before starting my own business.

Where do you call home?
Sydney, lived here all my life.

What is your creative process?
I visually study whatever I’m photographing before picking up the camera. I have an automated check list in my head that varies depending on the subject, that comes from my prac teachers at TAFE. I like to check out other photographers work on similar subjects for ideas. I often will be thinking or looking at something completely irrelevant and I’ll have a revelation.


How would you describe your photography style?  How do others describe it?
I like to keep things clean and simple, I love using natural light as much as possible. Other people are often telling me how they are impressed by my attention to detail, how I see pick up on things they’ve never noticed before.

Who or what inspires you?
Support from family and friends. Other photographers, designers and artists, nature, whatever I am photographing is often inspiring.

What have the highlights been since starting your career?
Definitely starting my own business. It’s given me endless creative freedom.

Were you given any memorable advice that you would like to share?
I know its cliché: “Never give up, life is too short”. I didn’t fully appreciate those words until my Auntie said them to me while I was talking with her about my career, that was the last time I spoke to her before she died. She died young but lived more than anyone I’ve ever met. Those words changed the way I approach everything in life.

Do you have a favourite project?
Too hard to pick one. I love projects where I’m working with passionate people.

How do you maintain a balance between your work and your life? (or not?)
I constantly remind myself of what’s important in life (its easy to forget when work gets crazy). My partner forces me to have one day off a week which is good as I don’t think I would do that without him there to keep me in line. I’m big on fitness as well; keeps me calm, alert and productive.

Describe your dream studio
Clean and fresh, super organised, natural light, big barn doors, coffee machine in the kitchen.
Do you have a “usual” day
Nope, every day is a different.

What is your favourite place to hang out?
After work if the sea temp is swimmable its the local harbour-side pool with it’s awesome views. Otherwise it’s to the local wharf to check out the marine life, it’s like our own tropical fish tank.

What do you love most about what you do?
The fulfilment of doing a great job.

Answer these short questions?
Black or White? White
Tea or Coffee? AM= Coffee PM=Tea
Heals or flats? Flats, I’m tall enough
Short or long? Long
Sweet or savoury? Savoury
Night or Day? Day

Thanks so much Katie for your time.

You can contact Katie online at: www.katiepreece.com

Leave a Reply

