Advertisers Spotlight | Urban Road

Today we introduce you to Suzie Atkin from Urban Road.  Urban Road was created in 2010 by Suzie, self taught artist, illustrator and stay at home Mother of 3 lively but gorgeous kids. Suzie started Urban Road as a creative outlet, designing artwork for her home and friends, and friends of friends, and friends of friends of friends and finally making it an official business in 2010. Suzie thinks of art as an ever changing journey which she loves being on, and is constantly inspired by her urban surroundings.

Thanks for joining us at Paper Runway Suzie we heart Urban Road.

Tell us about your background and how did you get to where you are today? It’s a long story, the short version is growing up I loved art (not craft so much because my parents were crafters and their production line was me and my 3 brothers & sisters, we would hang out at the markets on the weekends…this put me off me for a while). However, it is in my blood & wasn’t stifled for long! In year 12 I wanted to be an art teacher, but was encouraged to do business by my well-intentioned father. So, ending up in IT I was lucky enough to get a job with a design software company (guess who). When I discovered their software I fell in love…I tinkered in my spare time. After I had my first child I started doing illustrations for other people…and here I am today!

Where do you call home? Killara, Sydney has been my home for the last 10 years. But recently Greg and I have been fantasising about moving to the country…does anyone else do this??? I would love to know! If we move to the country I could call myself Country Road…doh, that’s already taken!

Tell us about your business Well, when I originally started doing illustrations I focused on custom portraits and called myself “Pop Me”. But I decided to move away from portraits and focus on my original illustrations (it’s more fun), so I thought a new name & look was in order. I called it Urban Road because to me art is a journey, and my style and inspirations are constantly changing. And the Urban part is simply my surroundings, plus I thought it sounded catchy…and the domain name was available LOL. All of my work is printed on canvas ready to hang, I love prints on canvas (even though paper seems to be the current trend…you know, Paper Runway and all). My goal with Urban Road is to make LARGE canvas prints gorgeous and affordable because often they are neither :). I currently have a very special offer 40% off your second canvas.

Who or what inspires you? Inspiration is to be found everywhere, I always have my art glasses on. My next masterpiece is always on my mind so I seem to filter everything through my brain that way. Of course I have my favourite mags & blogs too, and how much are you all loving Pintrest? A fabulous time waster, I mean inspiration source.

What have the highlights been since starting your career? The highlight for me is quitting my career (in IT) so I can paint & draw WOO HOO!

Were you given any memorable advice that you would like to share? Don’t pretend to be someone your not and don’t worry if people don’t like you, you can’t make everyone happy. This is tough for a people pleaser like me, I’m working on it, the worrying part especially!

Do you have a favourite project? I don’t really work on projects…one of my favourite illustrations is of my 2 girls, it captures a moment I remember fondly, I look at it everyday in their playroom and it makes me smile.

How do you maintain a balance between your work and your life? (or not?)  My family comes first and I try to fit everything else in between.  Which means lots of late nights when the kiddies are asleep and hubby is watching his docos.

Describe your favourite paper item My husband would laugh at this one, he gets annoyed with all my paper. I would have to say watercolour paper tops my list closely followed by kraft anything…I recently purchased some kraft cardboard cut out wall frames for an art wall in my girls room that I adore.

Do you have a “usual” day No, but I have a usual week. You know what I mean, the weekly routine, school pick up, drop off, different in between and after school activities each day, cooking, cleaning and a bit of work scattered in here and there.

What is your favourite place to hang out? Home…boring I know.

What do you love most about what you do? I love that I love what I do, not many people can say that about their work and I feel truly blessed to be in my position.

Answer these short questions?

Black or White Black
Tea or Coffee Coffee in the morning followed by lots of tea through the day
Heals or flats defiantly flats
Short or long Depends what it is…long???
Sweet or savoury sweet
Night or Day Day

visit Uban Road here

A collection of art from Urban Road

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

x Nikki and Maree

One response to “Advertisers Spotlight | Urban Road

  1. Fantastic interview with Suzie! I loved reading her answers and yes, I dream of an escape to the country all the time (although I would miss the shops too much I think).
    Janette xx

Leave a comment